When you create a group, you will be the group's default owner. You can change the owner, or add a group operator which has the privileges to change settings as an owner but cannot delete the group or change the group's owner.


How to make another user a group operator

(Note: The user must be a member of the group to become an operator. In order for other operators to make new operators, the owner must have made this option enabled in Content options. See How do I change my group's settings for more details).

  1. Go to your group’s main page.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. In the drop-down menu that appears, click Manage group operators.
  4. In the Add another operator text box, type the name of the person you want to add as an operator and click their name when it appears in the drop-down menu.
  5. Click Make Operator.
  6. You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the member was added as an operator. The person who you've made an operator should receive an email notifying them that they are now an operator.

How to remove an operator

If you wish to revoke someone's privileges as an operator:

  1. Go to your group’s main page.
  2. Click Settings.

  3. In the drop-down menu that appears, click Manage group operators.

  4. Scroll down to the user you want to remove as an operator.
  5. Click Drop privileges.
  6. You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the operator was removed. The person you removed will not receive any notification. 


How to transfer group ownership

(Note: A group can only have one owner at a time. Only the current owner can transfer ownership of the group).


There are two ways to transfer ownership of a group:


If the person is already a group operator:

  1. Go to your group's main page.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. In the drop-down menu that appears click Manage group operators.
  4. Scroll to the person you want to be owner of the group and click Make owner. (Note: If this person was an owner before and you wish to transfer ownership back to them, you must drop their privileges and then re-add them as an operator).
  5. You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the change has been made. The person who you've made the owner should receive an email notifying them of the change.


If the person is a member of the group, but not an operator:


  1. Go to your group's main page.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. In the drop-down menu that appears click Edit group.
  4. In the Group profile/tools tab, scroll down to the owner text box.
  5. Erase your name and enter the name of the person you want to become the owner of the group.
  6. Click Save, and then Publish in the window the pops up.
  7. You should receive a pop-up in the top-left corner confirming that the group has been saved. The person who you've made the owner should receive an email notifying them of the change.

Related Articles